FMP – Good Design Evaluation

  • In what ways have you considered the sustainability of your project process and outcomes?

I considered all options when thinking about the sustainability of my book. However, I came to the conclusion that paper isn’t as destructive as everyone thinks, as trees are replanted and specifically grown for paper. My book is only being printed a few times, with a small amount of pages, so the impact on the environment is small.

  • In what ways have you considered the ethical implications of your project process and outcomes?

I considered what the problem was, and aimed to educate students on healthy dieting and trying to get them to engage in healthy eating. I would say the ethical implications would be positive to my audience.

  • In sustainability and ethical terms in what ways was your work in this project an improvement or a backward step for you as a socially conscious designer?

I would say it has made me engage with my audience, making me aware of an issue within the food market, and producing an educational tool for them to use.

  • What targets can you make at this point for your work in the future as a socially conscious designer?

I would perhaps consider other sustainable methods of printing, maybe exploring vegetable inks, or using a cheaper, easily reproduced method of printing.

Leave a Reply

