FMP – Type Choices

I tried a variety of different typefaces, thinking about the house style of my book. I wanted the design to seem clean and clear, whilst also being visually appealing. I tried something that I’ve previously been advised not to do, which was implementing a script font. From previous experience, using a script font reduces readability, however it does add a stylistic element to the overall design. I chose to look at script fonts mainly to add a personal touch to the design. However, after comparing them to the a sans serif I still feel like the title needs to be readable, and is more so using the bolder typeface.

I chose Gotham as the house font. The font comes with multiple variations of weight, which will allow me to add hierarchy and contrast between titles and texts. I like how it neutralises the design, which works well with the isolated white background and food imagery.

FOOD4THOUGHT_BOOK_01.jpg

Screenshot 2017-05-22 11.35.54Screenshot 2017-05-22 11.36.08

Leave a Reply

