FMP – Setting Up A-Master & Baseline Grids Indesign

I re-capped on how to set up an A-Master page by watching an online tutorial. This will allow me to keep continuity on each page, whilst also working quickly and efficiently.

They also help the reader navigate, by displaying direction such as a menu bar, page number, or book title.

Screenshot 2017-05-20 10.21.17.png

I used a simple design, automating the page numbers as I progress into the book, whilst also adding a reminder of the book title placed in the center of each page. I created margins and columns to give structure to my pages, however, some pages may change, and I will adjust the layout and grid accordingly.

I also used a baseline grid, adjusting the grid to the leading value of my text, and then snapping the text to it.This will further enhance the structure of my design

Screenshot 2017-05-20 10.49.19

 

Screenshot 2017-05-20 10.46.16

I’ve learnt from previous experience it’s good to start with a good structure, as this gives the foundation in which to layout text and images effectively. I want the reader to feel engaged, whilst also feeling comfortable and enjoy reading the book.

Leave a Reply

