FMP – Disintegration Effect Photoshop

One effect I’ve always been fascinated with is disintegration of an isolated subject. My title for my book is “Food For Thought” and I feel this gives me scope to use my creativity on the front cover of the book. The idea I want to get across to my audience is thinking about the food we eat. I feel the disintegration effects signifies the digestion process of the food, whilst also being dynamic as a piece of art.

I selected an image of a strawberry, attempting to symbolise healthy eating.Screenshot 2017-05-08 15.41.57

I created a new layer, and made a selection around the whole strawberry, without the shadow. I saved the path but kept the selection, and cut the strawberry onto a new layer. I filled the selection with white. Using the paint brush tool I then painted everything other than the shadow pure white, then selected the image, copied it, and pasted it onto an alpha channel. I created a fresh new layer and loaded the selection, and finally filled it white black.

Screenshot 2017-05-08 15.42.20

I created a new layer with the cut strawberry, and used the used the liquify tool to stretch the colours out, giving me space to create the disintegration effect. I created a layer mask, filling it with black to hide it for the moment..

Screenshot 2017-05-08 15.42.46

On another cut strawberry layer, I started to use scatter brushes to “chop” into the strawberry, which will allow space for the effect to show.

Screenshot 2017-05-08 15.44.10

On the liquified layer, I used more scatter brushes to reveal more of the layer mask.Screenshot 2017-05-08 15.44.22

The Final Pieces..

Screenshot 2017-05-08 15.44.26.png

FOOD4THOUGHT_BOOK_01

 

Leave a Reply

