Good Design Evaluation – Conspiracy Theories

To stay conscious about my role as a designer, and what implications I may have on the world as a result of my work, I want to evaluate my project and set targets to decrease my impact on future ones.

  • In what ways have you considered the sustainability of your project process and outcomes?

The brief that was set asked us to create a small souvenir book to be sold in the shop of an exhibition about conspiracy theories. The raw materials used in the making of the book would be paper & ink. Although there is a lot of deforestation happening in areas that shouldn’t be harvested, the majority of the wood used is planted and harvested as a crop. There are in fact x50 as many trees as 100 years ago. I didn’t use recycled paper as this is arguably “less green” as there is considerably more energy & water used to collect and treat the paper. I think it would have been quite easy to print and reproduce with little impact on the environment, as black and white printing is cheap and cost effective.

  • In what ways have you considered the ethical implications of your project process and outcomes?

I designed a “fake story” to generate fear amongst the public. Ethically, I don’t think it’s right to make a story for the purpose of scaremongering.

 

  • In sustainable and ethical terms in what way was your work in this project an improvement or a backward step for you as a socially conscious designer?

I think I could maybe have done more research into how I could use less paper, perhaps making the book as one folded sheet. However I don’t think this piece would a massive impact in the future.

 

  • What targets can you make at this point for your work in the future as a socially conscious designer?

In future projects, I want to have a clear vision of what the end result will be. This will help me choose materials earlier in the process and adapt for a more sustainable end product. I also think I need to conduct more research into sustainable materials to be used in print design, to reduce my overall impact on the world.

Leave a Reply

