Experimentation With Backgrounds and Final design – Caligram Design 2

After finishing my caligram, I went back to my original thumbnail sketches to see if I could add interest to the design. I wanted to use some sort of imagery that might aid the reader identify homer more easily. I watched an episode of the Simpsons and made a list of things that is synonymous with the character of Homer. This included:

The simpsons clouds- as seen in the opening titles, the clouds move away revealing springfield below

Doughnuts – Homers favourite snack

The Kwik-E Mart – Homer often visits the kwik-e mart to fuel his large appetite

The powerplant – Homers place of work

Scan 2

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 11.55.25Although i think it has the right connotations that Simpsons lovers would love, I think it distracts from the typeface and makes it harder for the type to really speak to the audience. For that reason, I chose to keep it on a white background, with my name featuringĀ at the bottom right of the page. This simplicity lets the character and typefaces really stand out, and you can just imagine it hanging on the wall.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 12.09.21.png

Evaluation

Overall I’m happy with the design. I feel my typeface choice was overall quite effective, using contrast where possible. This will be my final design for submission. I hope they see the fun side to this and my experimentation with type interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

