Design Process – Bevel & Emboss Illustrator

Design 1

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 16.25.59.pngI want my memorial to reflect my artistic and creative abilities, and also my sporting passion. I focused on choosing my typeface, trying different combinations, and taking onboard what I learnt in my previous post about carving in stone and the history of type. I then went onto thinking about how I might carve the type using effects in illustrator.

I came across this really helpful and useful tutorial to create this carving effect using photoshop. I first made a text box and typed my text that I had planned from my original sketches. I then changed the fill colour to white and then the blending mode of the text to multiply.Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 16.13.39.png

I then went to the layers blending options, where I adjested the bevel & emboss, inner shadow, colour overlay, and gradient overlay to achieve the carved effect.

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 16.16.10.png

I then drew the shape of my gravestone in illustrator, applying a a sponge effect to make the gravestone look more realistic and less flat. I exported it as a psd, and then opened it in photoshop. I moved the layer below the text layers and from there I was able to see the text effect on stone.Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 16.25.02.png

To emphasise my name, I scaled the words to be read clearly and from a distance. I also added light weighted strokes above and below my name. I copied the layer style from the text and pasted it onto the line layers, creating the engraved effect.

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 16.27.43

Design 2

Instead of making a stone effect, I wanted to look at how the text would look on a different materials. I sourced an image of a marble slab and used that for my gravestone. I imported the image into photoshop, and then started thinking about my choice of typeface.

My research has moved me onto different combinations of type. As a graphic designer, I have a great interest in typography, and I wanted this to be reflected in my typeface choices. I wanted to use Blackletter type, as this is the origin of the first printed typeface in Europe. The typeface has a lot of contrast between thick and thin strokes, which could be used as a decorative typeface. The serifs often have small embellishments to add interest which will also look nice on a gravestone. I used the typeface “Blackletter Extra Bold” which should stand out and be aesthetically pleasing on my gravestone.

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 10.46.49.png

I copied and pasted the layer style of the previous design, and tweaked the the values of the bevel and emboss, inner shadow an gradient overlay to achieve a realistic engraved look.

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 10.50.16

I chose the typeface “Garmond” which has less dramatic strokes and serifs compared to the blackletter type, and I think this contrast works well. I want my name to be readable and clear. Garmond, as previously mentioned in my research, has been used to engrave for centuries, and has a great historical significance. This makes it a perfect choice of typeface for my memorial. I used this for both my name and the quote below, adding contrast by adjusting the weight of the typeface. I used Garmond semi-bold for my name, and Garmond regular for the quote.

Below is the final finished design. I much prefer this to design one. I feel the typefaces are contrasting yet complimenting each other. I may however test print to make sure the type shows up well on the dark marble below. I may change the stone to a different colour if necessary.

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 11.02.45.png

Leave a Reply

