Designing My Double Page Spread

In this blog post I want to demonstrate how I laid out my spreads, using grids and columns to balance my design.

On the title page, there wasn’t a lot to layout. Only the positioning of the title and the image. I didn’t want the title to be “floating” around the page, so i altered the margins of the spread to make sure the design was balanced with clean lines.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 12.31.51.png

 

I also dragged guides from the horizontal axis to align the text to the margin, which made it clear and easy to read.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 12.28.52

I wanted to do something a bit different with the second double page spread. Instead of using straight columns for the text, I wanted to use a different angle, to give the feeling that the image is exclusive and I am allowing them to see inside the beautiful landscape. I used the direct selection tool to alter the bounding box around the main image.Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 12.37.32.png

I the locked the image, meaning It can’t be moved or altered in anyway. I then went on to draw an a text box at the same angle of the image. This gives a clean line in which the text can be segregated from the image, but grouping them together. I positioned the text on the right of the page so the audience is drawn to the image, and then is lead to the text. The eye naturally reads from right to left, so I feel this gives the design a natural flow. Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 12.40.32.png

Leave a Reply

