Typeface Choices – Selection & Rejection

I looked at a range of different typefaces. I wanted to use something that had connotations of law and formality. This is in keeping with the theme and title of the book, and the audience should be able to clearly understand the subliminal messages the typeface connotes.

The book is set in the 1860’s, and I think it is important for this to be reflected in my typeface choice. With this in mind, I look at a variety of serif fonts that I think will portray the right message.

I first looked at this modern, serif font, giving a old classic a modern twist. I thought this typeface was too modern, and the messages are very mixed and may confuse the reader as they may not expect this from an older book. Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 19.19.17.png

 

This slab serif typeface, Code bold, increases the readability of the title, and is quite easy for the reader to read along the line of text. However, the connotations of the typeface don’t represent the age of the book very well as I think it makes the the book seem modern. The book is set in an old historic city in the 1860s, with a lot of heritage. This should be reflected in the typeface.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 19.21.44

 

 

Leave a comment