Further Development of Front Cover

Creative Review_v2_Print3

After finishing my first front cover design, I looked at it and picked it apart using pmi, identifying what worked well in the design and what I could do to improve it.

Overall I was quite happy with the design, however I thought it looked quite flat and the signifiers might not portray the subculture in the right light. With this in mind, I had a think about what being a mod was all about. I identified that moral panic between mods and rockers was something that was quite prominent in mod subculture.  I went back to the drawing board and looked at how I could get the sense of panic in the design, whilst retaining the signifiers arranged in a different way.

I took the black daisy out as I think this flat shape makes the design look 2 dimensional and lacking depth. To add depth, I sourced an image of an article from the 60’s showing medias portrayal of both the mods and rockers to the public. I felt this gave that busy, hectic, panic feeling to the reader, whilst still relating to the brief and the style of Creative Review.

I also extruded the Lambretta logo at a 45 degree angle, bleeding off the page and adding depth to the design. I wanted to make the bikes look like they were coming out of the extruded Lambretta logo, showing almost like a transporter effect from past to present, signifying a revival amongst mods.

Creative Review_v2.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

