Design Process – Illustrator

I wanted to use a scooter to signify the mod subculture. In order to do this, I initially traced the outline of the bike. The shape is quite iconic to the mod subculture, so it should be quite easy for the intended audience to pick up the intended messages.

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 09.20.39.png

I made a composite of different elements on different layers in order to get a detailed illustration. Th

I manipulated colours in order to get the right tone. Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 09.31.09.png

I also used gradients in order to give the design more depth, as I aim to show shadow and light reflection. I found without using gradients, the illustration looks flat and blocky, and very amateurish.

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 09.34.52.png

To create the illusion of reflection, I used a white to red gradient, giving an indication of the light source. This helped me get more depth and meant I could get the desired shape.

To add texture to the illustration, I used a series of polygons to make the grip marks. This was relatively easy to do.

After having the initial wheel shape in a block colour, I added polygons in rows over the top

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 10.09.49

I then selected both the polygons and the wheel shape, and in the pathfinder window I selected divide. This meant that everything outside the wheel shape could be deleted as the path has been divided.

 

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 10.10.04

 

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 10.14.41

This is the final outcome after colouring and readjusting:

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 10.39.02.png

Leave a Reply

