Selection and Rejection of Type

I looked at many different examples of type in books, magazines and newspapers. I did this to gather ideas for what might work well in my own articles. In this blog post, i’m going to explore what might work well in each individual design, and why I’ve chosen each example of type.

MPN Article – After playing around with type on a template, I wanted to dissect what worked well and what didn’t work so well. I like the general idea and concept of the design, with focus on the main image in the center, however I think the typography doesn’t pose any impact on the reader. I do however like the bold, shadowed type used for the MPN  Logo. I think the ‘get your beak on’ text should be moved up, and maybe using a a sans serif font, all in lower case. This will give  the piece a more personal feel, and gives strong contrast to the other bolder sans serif typeface.20151101_153624

other typefaces I looked at but rejected:

I cut out this typeface from an Arsenal magazine I had in my bedroom. Although I like the appearance of the typeface, I don’t think it works well in relation to this project. This modern geometric sans font is too light weighted to stand out enough on the page, and the point size is too small. for a tagline i think it needs to be bold and less rigid and formal for the MPN article.

20151102_144428

I like this typeface and what the messages it shows, e,g hand written – persoanl, love, red-passion love. However for the purpose of this article its a little too free flowing and the texture of the font, in my opinion, won’t add anything to my design. I want something big and bold, but casual and smooth.

20151102_145411

I looked at my stencils to see if there was anything I could use for the tagline. The first type on the page i think is too formal too use, however the second typeface looks fun. The strong contrast between thick and thin strokes adds contrast in relation to the shadowed type, that has no contrast between thick and thin strokes, and is all uppercase, opposed to the lowercase above.

20151102_150237

I want to draw attention to the “Glenda Slagg” typeface. This Egyptian slab serif typeface used is quite effective as a header and gives strong readability from the strong block like serifs. Although this works well on this page, I don’t think it will contrast well with the other typeface I want to use. On this page, the hollow looking typeface contrasts well with the line below, being a sans serif bold black typeface.

20151102_144919

I like this Roman typeface. It looks like typewriter font. I can replicate this by using my alphabet stamps that look the same as this. I think for the text at the bottom of my design it may contrast well with the rest of the fonts in the design.

20151102_144642

“Dont Get Left In The Dark” article:

Again, I looked at different combinations of type for this design. I had quite a clear visual image of what I wanted to achieve, however I looked at different examples in magazines and newspapers to find the best combination.

I looked at the type on the front cover of this Private Eye annual. Although bold, the typeface is quite dated and the varying point sizes would make it hard to fit onto an a5 document.

20151102_144934

Although, if enlarged, this typeface could look effective as a title. However, it looks very childish and comic like, which is where the typeface is found, in a Beano comic!

20151102_145634

Bold, modern type used in newspaper headlines stood out and makes the reader aware its an informative piece. I like this typeface, I think if cut out into individual characters, and stuck down with glue in a jumbled fashion, it may resemble existing peices such as the sex pistols iconic punk look. As you can see in the example below, the type has been jumbled together in varying sizes and weights, creating contrast between all the letters and drawing the audience in with its crude design.sex pistols

20151102_150837

“Can-nibal” article: 

20151101_171525

The main image I plan to place centrally, with type above and below the image. I feel like the heading needs to be bold and be the most prominent on the page. With this in mind, I searched for a big bold sans serif typeface that would stand out from the rest of the type, and be read first. The point size of the heading should also be larger.

I looked at lots of different typefaces for the heading, here are some examples of what I rejected:

I liked the font used on the front of this Beano magazine. Its big and bold and the reader is instantly drawn to the text, with the imagery placed below. Although the geometric sans typeface is quite pleasing to the eye, and is along the lines of what i’m looking for, I think the rounded corners of the typeface give it a childish edge, and may not have the right connotations for my product that although is tongue and cheek and funny, its directed at an older audience

20151102_144952

I was also drawn to this typeface, an advert placed at the bottom of a newspaper. The bold sans serif typeface stands out and when contrasted with a lighter weighted font below. Again its slightly distorted, and the x-height is very slightly different for every character, which gives an informal feeling to the design. I think for the purpose of my design, it may be too gimmicky for something thats supposed to come across quite serious, but with a funny underlaying feature.

20151102_145437

Leave a Reply

