Typographic Poster Designs Illustator research/development

I first of all got some ideas down on paper. This process made me think about the layout and positioning of both the type images and the imagery. I wanted to make sure people knew it was a typography walk instantly within the first few seconds of looking at it. I tried a few designs out on illustrator. Here is an example of something i really liked, but I didn’t think it screamed ‘Typographic Walk’ as the typefaces are very plain, sans serif, and they’re almost used as images instead of type. Also, i think the image behind is slightly lost, I don’t want to detract from the type purpose and message. What I do like about the design is the border and box in the middle with a drop shadow added as an effect, gives depth to the piece, and although the image is lost behind in the instance, I think its quite a powerful technique and will remember this for future designs.Type_walk_poster

Below is a screenshot of how I stacked my layers. This is something I came onto the course to learn more about, and I’m actually beginning to understand this more and more, day by day.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.51.44

I had a re-think. I wanted to design something simple but effective. The text had to stand out, being a poster that had to appeal to typographic enthusiasts. I reverted back to my images to find other interesting examples of type, and how the examples could integrate with other elements.

I found some really interesting golden serif type from a tourist information sign. The type was set on a black painted background, saying “Welcome To Bexhill”. I think a serif typeface will improve readability, and has connotations of age, and formality. I used the “T” and the “W” in the heading “Typographic Walk” to emphasis the characters. I used it in conjunction with a san-serif typeface in white, adding contrast.

I chose another stylised serif font, drew an ellipse, and used the type on a path tool to make the ‘around’ go around the path. I did this so people don’t have to read the word to get the message. I thought about the hierarchy of the text given in the breif, what was the more important and what was less important.  I emphasised ‘Bexhill’ by putting the text between two lines, as people needed to know where the event was taking place. It was also important to think about what order the poster should be read. This gave me a structure when it came to picking fonts, font weights, and point sizes. Here is what I came up with.Type_walk_poster_03

Leave a Reply

